Accessing Google Drive with Google Groups, things you need to know

Google Drive makes it easy to share files or folders with others. In small organizations often folders are shared individually with users. Individually adding larger numbers of users, with a maximum 200 users, can lead to sluggish performance and is hard to manage when users join or leave the organization.

In other systems admins create user groups and assign that group the proper access rights to a folder or file. Managing access rights is all of a sudden a lot easier: you simply add or remove a user from the user group and that change is reflected when that user accesses the folder or file.

The same concept can be used by using Google Groups when assigning access to Google Drive file or folders. Not without a serious caveat due to how Drive works: members added to the Google Group after the sharing will not see the shared folder/file in their Drive!

This basically reflects Drive’s concept that a user only is able “to see” the folder or file in his Drive after he has received a link to it.

When an admin shares a folder with a Google Group, an “invite” is sent to the group members. When a user is added to the Google Group later on, that user does not receive the “invite” and the folder is not visible in his Drive automatically. In order to fix this problem the user would need to search for that folder or receive a link to it from someone else. Being a member of the Google Group he/she would then be able to view or edit documents in that folder.

Is there a better solution?

Yes, AODocs extends capabilities of Google Drive to a business-level virtual file server with added security, organization and search. One of its features is to push shared folders directly to a team or an individual’s Drive.

If you want to know more how AODocs is a perfect add-on to your Google Drive deployment, get in touch with us.

Image: Flickr/barto

Menu